Bengt-Åke Lundin, piano/Gävle Symphony Orchestra/Göran W Nilson

There is great dramatic energy in Sven-David Sandström’s 2:nd piano concerto, but hardly of the threatening nature found in his earlier piano concerto “Agiato”, which is colored to a great degree by destructiveness and pessimism. Here, everything is easier, lighter. The work alternates between virtuoso brilliance, melodic beauty and darkly colored sensualism.

Johan Hammerth‘s piano concerto No. I is one of the most all-encompassing solo concertos ever written by a contemporary Swedish composer and is seen as his breakthrough piece. The premiere, at the Berwald Hall in May 1992, performed by Bengt-Åke Lundin and the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra, was a triumph.

Bengt-Åke Lundin is one of Sweden’s most succesful pianists. He stands alone among pianists in offering both virtuoso brilliance and depth of feeling to all musical expression. He speaks often of the enormous potential for tone color inherent in his instrument, and he demands of himself that he develop as many tactile variations as possible so that his interpretations live with a maximum of nuances. Bengt-Åke Lundin has a deep interest in the works of many contemporary Swedish composers, and he has had a productive collaboration with Johan Hammerth for several years.

Read more
Show playlist
    • 1.
      Concerto for Piano and Orchestra Music: Sven-David Sandström
    • Piano Concerto No. 1 Music: Johan Hammerth
      • 2.
        1st movement
      • 3.
        2nd movement
      • 4.
        3rd movement
  • Total playtime 61'16

Digital // CAP 21608 // Classical // Releasedate: 1 January, 1999