Perceptions of time

Mats Bergström

Mats Bergström is without doubt one of Sweden’s most prominent and well known guitarists, both as soloist, accompanist and ensemble musician in several genres. Mats know how to stretch the concept “chamber music” and he is often called upon by e.g. musikFabrik (Cologne) and Ensemble Modern (Frankfurt).

On Perceptions of time Mats is joined by bassist Anders Jormin and violinist Joakim Svenheden. The trio plays music by Jormin, Pärt, Gubaidulina, Mossenmark and Norda.

This trio treats us to a very sensitive and harmonious musicianship in seven compositions. We can listen to a rearranged version for guitar and piano of Arvo Pärt’s Fratres , authorized by the composer. Anders Jormin contributes with specially written music for the tours he has made with Mats, and the trio also performs a rare piece by Sofia Gubadulina; Serenade. The booklet is beautifully illustrated by Christine Falkenland.

Read more
Show playlist
    • Three Angels Music: Anders Jormin
      • 1.
        Three Angels I
      • 2.
        Three Angels II
      • 3.
        Three Angels III
    • 4.
      Fratres Music: Arvo Pärt
    • 5.
      Serenade Music: Sofia Gubaidulina
    • 6.
      Tiden är ingenting Music: Anders Jormin
    • Green Bridge Music: Staffan Mossenmark/Jesper Norda
      • 7.
        Green Bridge I
      • 8.
        Green Bridge II
      • 9.
        Green Bridge III
    • 10.
      Notes on Fratres Music: Staffan Mossenmark/Jesper Norda
    • 11.
      Lhasa Music: Anders Jormin
  • Total playtime 58'44

Compact Disc // CAP 21800 // Contemporary // Releasedate: 14 November, 2007