Anders Kilström, piano

Stenhammar & Liszt

For this recording Anders Kilström has chosen to play Wilhelm Stenhammar’s Second Piano Concerto, with the Gävleborg Symphony Orchestra conducted by Hannu Koivola, and Liszt’s great B minor Sonata – two works which, at first hearing, may seem complete opposites but which have certain points of contact, e.g. as regards themes and motifs.

As a soloist, Anders Kilström has performed with conductors like Neeme Järvi, Franz Welser-Möst and Hans Vonk. His chamber music partners have included the Copenhagen Chamber Trio, the Georgian Quartet, the Franz Schubert Quartet and the Fresk Quartet. He has co-operated closely with several eminent young Swedish musicians, such as clarinetist Håkan Rosengren, flautist Tobias Carron and violinist Tobias Ringborg.

Anders Kilström has a broad repertoire. He has frequently dedicated himself to contemporary music and premièred a large number of newly written music. He has had many pieces written especially for him.

Read more
Show playlist
    • Piano Concerto No.2 in D-minor Op.23 Music: Wilhelm Stenhammar
      • 1.
        Piano Conc. No. 2 in D minor Op 23 : Moderato Music: Wilhelm Stenhammar
      • 2.
        Piano Conc. No. 2 in D minor Op 23 : Molto viv.
      • 3.
        Piano Conc. No. 2 in D minor Op 23 : Adagio
      • 4.
        Piano Conc. No. 2 in D minor Op 23 : Moderato
    • Sonata in B-minor Music: Franz Liszt
      • 5.
        Sonata in B minor : Lento assai - All. energico Music: Franz Liszt
      • 6.
        Sonata in B minor : Andante sostenuto
      • 7.
        Sonata in B minor : All. energico - Lento sost.
  • Total playtime 61'12

Compact Disc // CAP 21448 // Classical // Releasedate: 1 January, 1994