Tobias Ringborg, violin

Kreisler, Poulenc, Ysaÿe & Sjögren

The soloist price was founded by the Royal Swedish Academy of Music and American Express. It is awarded every year to a young soloist within the classical sphere, and once it included recording a CD on the Caprice label. In 1994 the prize was given to the violinist Tobias Ringborg.

Tobias Ringborg has filled this CD with compositions mainly from the repertoire of the late and high Romantic era – pieces for which he has a great affection, has often performed and made his own. Fritz Kreisler is a particular favorite and now something of a Ringborg specialty. Tobias Ringborg is trying to make him part of the regular concert repertoire, not just an encore. This CD also includes works by Francis Poulenc, Eugéne Ysaÿe and Emil Sjögren.

As accompanist for this recording, Tobias Ringborg chose Anders Kilström, a brilliant pianist and responsive chamber musician with whom Tobias has collaborated closely for several years, and who has been a constant source of inspiration in the elaboration of interpretations at rehearsals and concerts.

Read more
Show playlist
    • Sonata for violin & piano Music: Francis Poulenc
      • 1.
        1 Allegro con fuoco
      • 2.
        2 Intermezzo
      • 3.
        3 Presto tragico
    • 4.
      Sonata No. 3 for violin solo ”Ballade” Music: Eugène Ysaÿe
    • Sonata No. 2 E-minor for violin & piano Op. 24 Music: Emil Sjögren
      • 5.
        1 Allegro moderato
      • 6.
        2 Allegretto scherzando
      • 7.
        3 Andante sostenuto
      • 8.
        4 Con fuoco
    • 9.
      Romance Op. 4 Music: Fritz Kreisler
    • 10.
      Reciativo and Scherzo-Caprice for violin solo Music: Fritz Kreisler
    • 11.
      Viennese Rhapsodic Fantasietta
  • Total playtime 76'00

Compact Disc // CAP 21455 // Soloist Prize // Classical // Releasedate: 1 January, 1994