Jakob Koranyi, Cello

Britten, Ligeti & Brahms

“For unusually solid playing, well thought-out musical interpretation, total technical control and outstanding tone quality.” With this motivation Jakob Koranyi won the prestigious Soloist Prize in the finale that took place in Norrköping on April 22, 2006.

The main purpose for the The Soloist Prize, is to present some of Sweden’s most prominent young musicians.The competition is arranged biennially by, among others, the Royal Swedish Academy of Music. The winner receives 100.000 SEK, and previously it ment also a tour for Concerts Sweden and the recording of an album on the Caprice label.

Jakob Koranyi, who won the competition with his brilliant performanceof Prokofiev’s Sinfonia Concertante, has studied in Cologne for Frans Helmerson. He already holds a degree from thematic studies at Edsberg Manor, and a Post Degree of Performance at the Royal Northern College of Music in Manchester. He is now becoming a frequent soloist with various orchestras, but he is also increasingly active in chamber musical contexts.

On this recording, a part of the prize, Jakob Koranyi gives us Benjamin Britten’s imaginative Sonata in C major, György Ligeti’s challenging Sonata for Solo Cello and Johannes Brahms’s popular Cello Sonata in e minor.

Jakob Koranyi is accompanied by the pianist Peter Friis Johansson, who currently studies at the Master’s Programme at the Royal College of Music in Stockholm for Staffan Scheja and Anders Kihlström. In 2007 Peter won the Young Soloist/Solofoni prize in Helsingborg.

Read more
Show playlist
    • Sonata in C for Cello and Piano Op. 65 Music: Benjamin Britten
      • 1.
      • 2.
        Scherzo - pizzicato
      • 3.
      • 4.
      • 5.
        Moto Perpetou
    • Cello Sonata Music: György Ligeti
      • 6.
      • 7.
    • Sonata for Piano and Cello in E minor Op. 38 Music: Johannes Brahms
      • 8.
        Allegro non troppo
      • 9.
        Allegretto quasi Menuetto
      • 10.
  • Total playtime 63'59

Compact Disc // CAP 21767 // Soloist Prize // Classical // Releasedate: 11 April, 2007