Göran Gamstorp


Göran Gamstorp (born in 1957) achieved his breakthrough with Growings for symphony orchestra and tape, a piece on a very large scale which lasts nearly an hour.

The work is unique, considering the elaborately composed sound tape that runs for 25 minutes of the work’s total duration, as well as for the volcanic eruptions in forte-fortissimo juxtaposed to the most delicate pianissimos. In order to create organic unity the composer has analyzed the sounds of water and has utilized the resulting sound material in his composition of the work. Growings was composed in the years between 1988 and 1991 and the tape took one year’s hard work to prepare.

Gamstorp was educated at the Royal Academy of Music in Stockholm, where he received his diploma in composition 1990. He has been commissioned to write for the Royal Opera in Stockholm and he was the first Swede to be admitted to the IRCAM’s one year course. His works has been performed throughout Scandinavia, in New York, Paris and Hong Kong.

Read more
Show playlist
    • 1.
      Growings: High Music: Göran Gamstorp
    • 2.
      ”Brutale subito” Music: Göran Gamstorp
    • 3.
      Into Music: Göran Gamstorp
    • 4.
      Three stations Music: Göran Gamstorp
    • 5.
      Out of Music: Göran Gamstorp
    • 6.
      Down Music: Göran Gamstorp
    • 7.
      Pulsations Music: Göran Gamstorp
  • Total playtime 50'39

Compact Disc // CAP 21570 // Klassiskt // Releasedate: 1 January, 1999