Bengt Hambræus

Various Artists

The 20th issue in the Caprice Composers Series is a portrait of the composer Bengt Hambræus containing the following compostitions: Rota II, Ricordanza per orchestra and Symphonia Sacra in Tempore Passionis.

Rota II for multi-channel loudspeaker rendering is made up of electronically processed instrumental sounds. These consist entirely of the sound of bells and organ, via a number of tiny bells from a small foundry near Mora in Sweden, and the organ of the Church of the Assumption in Munich.

Ricordanza is an “encyclopedic” orchestral composition – alluding to the composer’s own works – commissioned by the then Institute for National Concerts with the needs of small professional symphony orchestras in mind and first performed by the Norrköping Symphony Orchestra in 1977.

Symphonia Sacra for mixed choir, wind instruments and percussion was commissioned for the McGill Chamber Singers and is dedicated to their conductor, Fred Stoltzfus. The main text is a dramatic narrative of the passion and death of Christ.

Read more
Show playlist
    • 1.
      Rota II Music: Bengt Hambraeus Text: Bengt Hambraeus
    • 2.
      Ricordanza per Orchestra Music: Bengt Hambraeus Text: Bengt Hambraeus
    • Symphonia Sacra
      • 3.
        I Traditio
      • 4.
        II Inquisitio; ad mortem
      • 5.
        III Lux aeterna
  • Total playtime 68'44

Compact Disc // CAP 21421 // Electro Acoustic // Releasedate: 1 January, 1993