Brasil Big Bom

Lina Nyberg & Magnus Lindgren

As homage to the vital musical tradition of Brazil – that is one way of describing the result of the collaboration between Lina Nyberg and Magnus Lindgren in the big band project Brazil Big Bom. Together they are the leading figures in the thirteen-man-strong band consisting of nothing but hot jazz musicians.

Lina Nyberg, acclaimed as one of Sweden’s most creative jazz vocalists, has a number of records and projects behind her. Aged 18 she sang with such jazz greats as Bernt Rosengren, Nisse Sandström et al. In 2002 she was awarded the Swedish Jazz Federation’s distinction “Jazz Trophy”. Lina, who is a great fan of Brazilian music, has previously issued the record “Brazil”, highly praised by the critics.

Magnus Lindgren, saxophonist and flutist, is one of the hottest names in Swedish jazz. Since he received the distinction “jazz in Sweden” artist for the year 1999 his career as a musician and composer has continually won triumphs. Magnus Lindgren came into the limelight when he wrote the music for the Nobel Banquet in 2003.

Individually or together Lina and Magnus have made arrangements of Brazilian classics by composers such as Edu Lobo, Caetano Veloso, Chico Buarque and Tom Jobim. Lina Nyberg sings the poetical lyrics in Portuguese or Swedish in her own translations. Part of the album consists also of a newly written repertoire inspired by Brazilian music.

Band members include, besides Lina and Magnus, Patrik Skogh, Ann-Sofi Söderqvist, Karin Hammar, Staffan Findin, Joakim Rolandsson, Lisen Rylander, Alberto Pinton, Mathias Landaeus, Christian Spering, Chris Montgomery and Magnus Persson.

Read more
Show playlist
    • 1.
      Baby Music: Caetano Veloso
    • 2.
      Valentia Music: Edu Lobo & Gianfrancesco Guarnieri
    • 3.
      Madalena Music: Ivan Lins & Ronaldo Monterio de Souza
    • 4.
      Bôto Music: Antonio Carlos Jobim
    • 5.
      Tô voltando Music: Paulo César Pinheiro & Maurício Tapajós
    • 6.
      Sov Music: Lina Nyberg & Magnus Lindgren
    • 7.
      Lapa Music: Lina Nyberg
    • 8.
      En ton Music: Gaetano Veloso
    • 9.
      Canto Triste Music: Edu Lobo & Vinícius de Moraes
    • 10.
      Elvatåget/Trem das Onze Music: Adoniran Barbosa
  • Total playtime 48'46

Compact Disc // CAP 21785 // Jazz // Releasedate: 21 March, 2007