Monica Borrfors

Second Time Around

In 1986 Monica Borrfors was chosen to do the Jazz in Sweden recording, and with that much acclaimed album she received a Swedish Grammy Award. Second Time Around is her second album with the Quintet, this time reinforced on some of the tracks with brass. Some of the arrangements are made by Bernt Rosengren. This album was also nominated for The Swedish Grammy Award (Grammis).

In 1980 Monica formed her own group with established jazz musicians from Stockholm. It received attention on the Stockholm Jazz Days that same year. Monica and her group were frequent guests at festivals and jazz clubs.

As a soloist Monica has been singing with Bernt Rosengren Big Band and The Big Band of the Danish Radio. The Monica Borrfors Quintet on this album consists of Stefan Isaksson, tenor saxophone, Gösta Nilsson, piano, Per Nilsson, double bass and Magnus Öström, drums. Other participating musicians are: Maffy Falay and Bertil Lövgren, flugelhorn, Håkan Nyqvist, French horn, Elvan Araci, trombone and Sven Larsson, contrabass trombone.

Read more
Show playlist
    • 1.
      Happy Again Music: Lars Gullin Text: Claude Stephensson
    • 2.
      Round Midnight Music: T Monk/C Williams/B Hanighen
    • 3.
      How Deep Is The Ocean Music: Irwin Berlin
    • 4.
      When Sunny Gets Blue Music: M Fischer/J Segal
    • 5.
      Alone Together Music: H Dietz/A Schwartz
    • 6.
      Little Man You´ve Had A Busy Day Music: M Wayne/M Siegler
    • 7.
      Old Folks Music: Detette Hill/Willard Robinson
    • 8.
      That Old Black Magic Music: Harold Arlen/Johnny Mercer
    • 9.
      Since Love Music: Gösta Nilsson/Eric Bibb
    • 10.
      Twisted Music: Annie Ross/Wardel Gray
    • 11.
      The Second Time Around Music: Sammy Cahn/Jimmy van Heusen
  • Total playtime 49'56

Digital // CAP 21397 // Jazz // Releasedate: 1 January, 1990