Kurt Atterberg

Symphony 3 & Horn Concerto in A-minor

Caprice Composer Series present Kurt Atterberg’s Symphony No. 3, op. 10 and the Concert for Horn and Orchestra in A minor, op. 28.

Kurt Atterberg was born in Gothenburg, on Sweden’s west coast, in 1887. In 1907 he began studies at the Technical College in Stockholm, enrolling at the same time in the Conservatory of Music. During the academic year 1910–11 Atterberg studied composition with Andreas Hallén, instruction which was-according to what he himself has declared- of little value. It was at this time that he completed his first symphony, which qualified him for a state scholarship for composers. This made it possible for him to reside in Germany for certain periods.

The largest and most important part of Atterberg’s creative activity during the years 1909–1920 are to be found in the first four symphonies. It is primarily through these that we get a picture of the artistic development of his youth. According to many people these works also make up the richest harvest in his extensive production.

Participating musicians are; The Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra led by Sixten Ehrling. The Gothenburg Symphonic Orchestra led by Gérard Oskamp. Soloist on horn is Albert Linder.

Read more
Show playlist
    • Symphony No. 3 Op. 10 ”West Coast Pictures”
      • 1.
        I Sun Haze Music: Kurt Atterberg
      • 2.
        II Storm
      • 3.
        III Summer Night
      • Concerto for Horn and Orchestra in A-minor, Op. 28
        • 4.
          I Allegro pathetico Music: Kurt Atterberg
        • 5.
          II Adagio
        • 6.
          III Allegro molto
      • Total playtime 53'17

      Compact Disc // CAP 21364 // Classical // Releasedate: 1 January, 1988