Improvisational two

Mats Öberg

The second in the Improvisational series is Mats Öberg’s headstrong interpretations of the songs of Cornelis Vreejswijk, one of Sweden’s most loved singer-songwriters of the 20th century. A sumptuous concert hall containing a large Steinway grand piano, a pianist and a sound technician/producer: it’s the middle of the night, the witching hours. Thus the mood is set for Improvisational, Caprice’s CD series of improvisations by some of our most talented musicians.

The recording was made during the small hours at the Concert Hall at Nybrokajen 11 in Stockholm, the pianist hardly prepared and only just before the recording informed of the theme of the improvisation.

Mats demonstrates what an excellent pianist and improviser he is, having already made a name for himself as a cross-genre keyboardist who have accompanied such varied likes as Ale Möller, Frank Zappa, Morgan Ågren (Mats/Morgan Band), Lena Willemark, Ann-Kristin Hedmark and Jonas Knutsson. He also plays in his own trio with Filip Augustsson (bass) and Sebastian Voegler (drums).

With a sense of playfulness, mood and tenderness, Mats improvises Cornelis’ best-known songs, including Felicia Farewell, Steamboat Blues, Deidre’s Samba, The Tourist’s Lament and Saskia. With one word: irresistible.

Read more
Show playlist
    • 1.
      Felicia - adjö Music: Cornelis Vreeswijk
    • 2.
      Fåglar Music: Cornelis Vreeswijk
    • 3.
      Ångbåtsblues Music: Cornelis Vreeswijk
    • 4.
      Deirdres samba Music: Cornelis Vreeswijk
    • 5.
      Turistens klagan Music: Cornelis Vreeswijk
    • 6.
      Cool water - På Den Gyldene Freden Music: Cornelis Vreeswijk
    • 7.
      En visa om ett rosenblad Music: Cornelis Vreeswijk
    • 8.
      Saskia Music: Cornelis Vreeswijk
    • 9.
      Medley (Somliga går.../Fredrik Åkare och Cecilia Lind/Papillas samba) Music: Cornelis Vreeswijk
    • 10.
      Ann-Katrin farväl Music: Cornelis Vreeswijk
  • Total playtime 53'14

Compact Disc // CAP 21780 // Improvisational // Jazz // Releasedate: 14 November, 2007